Yoga and meditation in your astrological aspect

Your zodiac sign can reveal a lot about your temperament, your preferences, even how you react to stress and stimuli. No wonder, then, that so many people believe that you can maximize the potential in your body and mind by tailoring your workouts, including yoga and meditation, to your zodiac sign. We found it most helpful to focus on the properties of the four astrological elements in order to refine, support and deepen one’s yoga practice.

What is your star sign?

Almost everyone is familiar with the Western astrology system and what sign it is. There are twelve astrological signs, and your zodiac is determined by your birthday. If you are unsure of your sign, you can find a lot of information about astrology and horoscopes at

The four elements

Each sign of the zodiac corresponds to one of the four elements earth, air, fire and water. While the elements are the fundamental part of your horoscope, they can tell you a lot about yourself and your reaction to people and events. By learning more about your ruling element, you can build a yoga routine that better suits your mind, soul, and body.

Fire element

Fire signs are energetic, competitive, independent, passionate, and enthusiastic. Fire signs are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. Fire signs love to be challenged as they are very competitive. Therefore, a dynamic, active, energetic, and advanced yoga practice is best suited for this element. They love to sweat with hot yoga but struggle in a meditation class and have a hard time sitting still. Burning candles and practicing compassion-based meditation are most beneficial for fire signs.

The fire element is assigned to the third chakra energy center.

Water element

Watermarks are emotional, creative, fluid, intuitive, and empathetic. Although they can meditate well, they tend to be sensitive and easily overwhelmed. Signs associated with water are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. Watermarks are uniquely perceptible and make mindfulness and meditation a great mood enhancer. Watermarks like to be challenged, but love to take things slowly. Therefore, a long 90-minute yin yoga or hatha yoga class with long posture stops is ideal for this group. Watermarks are very fluid, but that doesn’t mean they can’t be driven and focused! Watermarks can quickly reach a meditative state when they are near a body of water. So a yoga retreat by a sea or lake would be fantastic.

The water element is assigned to the second chakra energy center.

Earth element

Earth signs are deeply connected to Mother Earth and are loyal, stable, reliable, and rooted in the present moment. Earth signs are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. These are the most grounded in the zodiac, but they can be rigid, stubborn, and inflexible under stress. Use grounding poses like Mountain, Squat, and Triangle to add stability to your life and yoga routine. Focusing on the weight of your legs as you practice yoga will help you stay grounded and centered and keep the stress of a more rigid worldview away. Earth signs are best for a style of yoga with a structured and consistent sequence such as Ashtanga yoga or Sivananda yoga. Standing or walking meditation will be most nourishing for this element.

The earth element is assigned to the first chakra energy center.

Air element

Air signs, Gemini, Libra, Aquarius, are fleeting, creative, expansive and never tend to stick to one thing. If you are someone who has a hard time calming down while meditating and you get bored sticking to a routine, your zodiac sign may be to blame. Mix it up with many different styles in your yoga practice. Instead of buying a lot of equipment, you’re not going to use it, take courses online, and do a new pose every week to keep things interesting. Pranayama and Vinyasa or Flow Yoga are the best practices for this element. Meditating outdoors or in a room with the windows open to let in the fresh air is most beneficial for this element.

The air element is assigned to the seventh chakra energy center.


Whatever your ruling element, yoga provides a great workout for your body and peace of mind as well. Combining practices that best suit your element with your yoga routine offers you a great way to challenge yourself and see yourself in a whole new light. However, it is important to understand that we are influenced by all four elements. While you should adjust the primary element of your yoga practice on your chart, it doesn’t mean that using the techniques above can’t be helpful for the other elements.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.