Is it you on this video In case you obtain this message on Fb you might be hacked

If you receive a DM on Facebook Messenger asking if you are in that video then you need to be on the alert as this is all part of an elaborate scam that recently re-emerged. As pointed out by security firm Sophos, this latest Facebook scam is designed to steal a target’s username and password that can further spread the scam. The scam starts simple enough when a Facebook user receives a DM (Direct Message) from one of their friends.

The private message on Facebook Messenger asks “Is it you in this video?” And offers what looks like an embedded video that you can click to play it.

If this was sent by someone else, the Facebook user might not fall for the scam, but since the sender is a friend, it can trick someone into playing the video.

As Sophos explained, the sender has already hacked their account and this latest DM is part of the cycle that is spreading the scam further.

When a Facebook user tries to click “Video” they are instead redirected to a new webpage that looks like a Facebook login screen.

READ MORE: Update WhatsApp if you want a new look for Android and iPhone

The giveaway that this is a downside, however, is the URL for the page – which is not an official Facebook website, is clearly a fake one that is hosted in Hungary.

Another sign that this website is fake is that the website is using HTTPS instead of HTTP. The earlier protocol is used by large websites to keep visitors safe.

Because this fake website uses HTTP, it will not see the locked padlock icon that appears in the address bar when visiting legitimate websites. This is another sign that the website that Facebook DM people referred to is fake and dangerous.

If these warning signs are not recognized and a Facebook user enters their login information, this sensitive information will be passed on to cyber crooks.

This not only gives scammers access to a target’s Facebook account, but also allows them to spread the scam further by sending the same message to all contacts on the hijacked FB profile.

Sophos went on to say that there is another aspect of the fraud. Once a Facebook username and password are entered on the fake login page, there will be a short delay before a victim is redirected to another scam.

These scams don’t seem to be run by the same group of criminals, so they may be trying to collect affiliate fees for sending victims to other cons.

Or it is a way for crooks to simply buy time so they can quickly access a victim’s account before they discover they have been scammed and try to change their password.

Sophos advised people on how to be safe and said antivirus and password manager tools can be helpful. They also recommended enabling two-factor authentication if that option is available.

Sophos said, “Use 2FA on every account you can. If you add a second factor of authentication, the crooks won’t be able to forge your password on their own and then access your account. 2FA is a small inconvenience for you, but a major obstacle to you Cyber ​​crime. “”

Sophos also advised that if you believe a friend was hacked, possibly after receiving a suspicious message, that you contact them using another communication method as soon as possible.

And if you get notified by a friend that your account has been compromised, don’t try to secure your account by changing your password.

Just make sure to visit an official website to change your login details instead of clicking links given to you by a contact.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.