Google issued another warning to users preparing to delete Play Music libraries later this month. If you’ve bought songs or albums from Play Music and haven’t pushed your purchases over to YouTube Music – Google’s latest Spotify rival – everything will be removed from Google’s servers in the coming days, the latest warning says.
For those who don’t know, Google Play Music was an iTunes rival that lived in the Play Store and allowed Android users to purchase individual songs and albums. Interestingly, Android users were also able to upload songs they had already bought in other stores such as iTunes and Amazon for access from the cloud anywhere in the world. As such, it was a solid option for those with darker music tracks that may not be covered by the library of roughly 60 million tracks available on Spotify and other streaming options.
It is these uploaded titles that will be the last ones to be deleted by Google. The Mountain View-based company closed the iTunes-like store back in October last year. With no option to purchase individual tracks, Play Music fans have been pushed to YouTube Music to stream music for a monthly fee. Google originally gave fans the option to transfer their existing Play Music library, including songs that fans manually uploaded from physical media, to YouTube Music until December 31, 2020.
However, this deadline has been extended to February 24, 2021.
This will be confirmed in the email sent to Play Music customers. In the final warning, Google stated, “We will be deleting all of your Google Play Music libraries and data shortly. On February 24th, 2021 we will erase all of your Google Play Music data. This includes your music library with all your uploads, purchases, and anything you’ve added from Google Play Music.
“After that date, there is no way to restore it. You can download your Google Play Music library and data using Google Takeout or transfer them to YouTube Music. As a reminder, with one click you can transfer your music library, including uploads, playlists, and recommendations, to YouTube Music before February 24, 2021. “
The email contains a button to trigger the transfer process. So you really have no excuse if you lose your purchased and uploaded titles at the end of this month. If you have not received the e-mail, you can start a transfer by clicking on Here.
In addition to purchased tracks and uploaded albums, Google also transfers your music profile so that you can immediately benefit from personalized recommendations in YouTube Music. These are based on your Google Play Music listening history, likes and dislikes. So you’re not going to be starting from scratch, something to grapple with if you took this opportunity to switch to a competing service like Apple Music or Spotify.
For those who prefer to buy individual tracks or albums – so they always own them – switching from Play Music to YouTube Music is a breeze. While Amazon and Apple both offer music streaming services, customers with these technology competitors can still spend 99p per track.
Google has stopped Play Music for all users and is deleting your data
YouTube Music costs £ 9.99 a month and offers ad-free music playback, curated playlists of popular tracks, and the ability to download music for offline listening. While Apple Music offers exclusive albums and its 24/7 radio stations as its main differentiator, Spotify relies on its colossal podcast library and almost ubiquitous apps for all smart speakers, set-top boxes, and more. In contrast, YouTube Music touts its unprecedented access to live performances, including gigs uploaded to YouTube that can be streamed ad-free. There are also covers and remixes – two other hugely popular video categories on YouTube.
If you visit the address for Play Music that has already been removed from the Google Play Store, all you will see is a message confirming, “Google Play Music is no longer available. You can transfer your account and library, including playlists and uploads, for a limited time. If you want to keep your music, download it soon. If you don’t want to erase it now, all remaining music and data data will be automatically erased once the shutdown is complete. “